Soap In Progress – Autumn Splendor – Sweet Almond Oil and Shea Butter Soap with AppleJack & Peel and Pure Honey Fragrance

Since fall is fast approaching, I wanted to honor the autumn season with a soap befitting of crisp, cool, days, falling leaves and apple cider.     The only thing that is missing is the hay ride!

I had some Pure Honey  and AppleJack & Peel fragrance oils and they smelled so great together that I decided to use them in this batch of soap.   AppleJack smells like sharp apple cider.  It’s apple-y and spicy.   The Pure Honey fragrance tones it down a little bit and gives it a little sweetness.  Together it smells more like apple pie or sweet cider.  It is a good match.
img_1513

Red is a very difficult color to achieve in cold process soap.  I approached it with blending coral mica and a little bit of burgundy oxide.

 

 

 

 

img_1525I made a whipped cream looking frosting, and some autumn colored fall leaves (which I made out of LCP (Like Cold Process) melt and pour).

img_1531

 

 

 

 

 

 

img_1518

I gave it a swirl design that gives it a sense of motion like a brisk autumn breeze, and topped it all off with a drizzle of gold mica oil to give it a festive glimmer.

 

 

With generous amounts of sweet almond oil and shea butter, this is going to be a luxuriously moisturizing bar of soap.

img_1538

 

I think it turned out cute.  It certainly looks and smells like autumn to me!  Now to wait 6 weeks for it to cure so I can use it.   In retrospect, I should have created this soap about 6 weeks earlier and I would be using it now.    Time to update my “to do” calendar so next summer I will remember to start thinking about fall in July.

 

 

img_1576

The recipe and detailed instructions for making this soap and more will be in my upcoming book that will be published on Amazon.com in the next few months.  I hope to have it published by Christmas.  When it is published I will post a link on my blog.   You can also follow my Amazon Author page to see when it is published and to view my other books: http://amazon.com/author/lisaadaniels.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

