Meh! Some days you just can’t win with soap!

It all started out with an idea for an energetic looking soap color combination and design for Brambleberry’s “energy” fragrance.   I thought,  pink, yellow and green might make an interesting and contrasting color palette.  And surely, if that is poured into a feather swirl design, that would be great.  Well, it didn’t turn out in reality like it was in my mind.

img_0882

My first issue was when the batter started rapidly accelerating.  I don’t know why it did that.  I have used this fragrance before and had no issues.   It might be the water discount I took or maybe I used too many hard oils in my recipe or soaped too hot (or all those reasons combined).

I worked quickly and did an in-the-pot swirl.

img_0889

Things were going along fine, so I poured it into the mold to attempt the feather swirl design.  So far, so good.  Not crazy about the colors, but.. oh well.

img_0895

Finally it was in the mold and ready to texture.  Attempt #1 was not spectacular.  So back to the drawing board.

img_0903

Attempt #2 was also terrible (although in retrospect, I should have stopped there).

img_0908

Attempt #3 and we’re starting to get mud.

img_0913

Final attempt to make the mud look interesting before I decided that I was just making matters worse and had better stop.

img_0916

In the end, the soap turned out OK, but the top is ugly.   It smells wonderful though and is great soap (if you can get past the top).  I might end up shaving off the top and piping some frosting over it.  I might just put it in my soap stash and use it myself.  I haven’t decided yet.

I did determine though that I was the main cause of failure in this soap. My color choices might have been OK had I not put too much colorant in them.  My batter might not have accelerated had I paid more attention to the temperature or the oils used in the recipe. My soap top might have been OK (but not spectacular) had I stopped at the first or second attempt.   Like I said — some days you just can’t win at soap!

img_1023

Leave a Reply

