Awapuhi Seaberry with Tussah Silk, Hemp & Shea Soap

Having recently acquired some new fragrances from Nature’s Garden, I was anxious this weekend to make them into soap.  I had purchased them to make bath bombs with, but had a change of heart.    I was inspired by the Awapuhi Seaberry fragrance, which was just begging to be turned into something colorful.

I decided to use tussah silk, hemp oil and shea butter in this recipe.  Since I have never worked with this fragrance before, I made a small batch and used a recipe that I knew wouldn’t seize up.     I am happy to say that the fragrance behaved perfectly.   I did get a coating of soda ash on the soap top, but it washed right off.

I blended a custom color of aqua using Caribbean Blue Mica, Yellow Mica and Super Pearly White Mica.    I used Yellow Mica for the yellow, and Fired Up Fuchsia for the pink.

img_1873-copy

Then  poured it into the mold and designed the soap top.  It’s a little hard to see in the picture, but there is a subtle watercolor “peacock” effect.

img_1892aimg_1899

So here they are, fresh out of the mold (and a little mottled looking because they are still quite wet).

awapuhi-seaberry-hemp

Overall, I am happy with how these turned out.  I think once they dry out a little bit they will be quite pretty, and they smell great too!

Leave a Reply

