A Mild, Balanced, Herbal Chocolate Chai Almond Latte Recipe

It’s Sunday evening.  That means work tomorrow.   I suppose I am lucky and should not complain, but there is something sad and apprehensive about the end of the weekend.  What will this week bring?  Will it be busy, or maybe because it’s the week before a major holiday vacation, it will be slow?   Will there be new challenges, or the same old routine?   So many possibilities and the fun of the weekend is now behind us.

To soothe my soul and treat myself to some herbal goodness, I decided to make myself a chocolate chai tea.   It is still early enough in the evening that the black tea and cocoa won’t keep me awake tonight, so why not?

I put the ingredients and amounts into the recipe calculator on myfitnesspal and found that it only has about 14 calories per cup, even including the almond milk, so it’s an affordable treat for my diet.  It would probably be creamier and more decadent using whole milk or half and half, but my waistline cannot afford that.  You could probably cut the calories a little bit by taking out the chocolate chips, but what fun is that?

I am enjoying a cup right now as I write this blog entry and it is so good.  It is not too spicy, not too chocolate, not to “tea” flavored.   It is like you can taste all the ingredients at once without any one overpowering the others.  It is plenty sweet without being sugary.  It’s a wonderful balance, I can already feel it warming my belly.

I thought I would share the recipe with you in case you could use a little cheering up and are grieving the loss of your weekend.  If this doesn’t put a little cheer into your Sunday evening, then I don’t know what will.

Herbal Chocolate Chai Almond Latte

choc-chai-2Measure out the following:

  • 1/2 tsp cocoa (I used Rodelle dutch processed baking cocoa)
  • 1/2 tsp chocolate chips (I used the mini semi-sweet variety)
  • 1/2 tsp loose leaf black tea (or any plain black tea bag)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon chips (I broke up a cinnamon stick to get this)
  • 1/4 tsp ginger root powder (regular cooking spice ginger will work too)
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves (or 2 whole cloves)
  • 4 tiny bits of chopped bourbon vanilla bean (or any type of vanilla bean)
  • 1 cardamom pod (if you don’t have this, you can use powdered cardamom.  I would use about 1/8 tsp).
  • 2 black peppercorns
  • 1/4 tsp licorice root (optional, but it adds some sweetness) (technically it is supposed to be decocted, not infused, but I got the water very hot and let it steep for 10 minutes)
  • 1/4 tsp fennel seeds (optional, but it adds more depth to the brew)
  • 1/4 tsp roasted dandelion root (optional, but it adds a toasty flavor which is quite nice)(this should also be decocted and not brewed, but oh well. It still added a nutty, roasted flavor anyhow).
  • 3 Tbsp. almond milk, heated (optionally frothed)

 

Instructions:

  1. Put all the ingredients into a tea diffuser or make a tea bag (a coffee filter will do, just tie it off with a bread bag tie or something similar).
  2. Boil the water in the microwave.  I used 2 cups, but if you would like it stronger, use less.
  3. When the water is boiling, pour it into the tea-pot or cup, over the tea diffuser (or tea bag).
  4. Let it brew for 10 minutes.
  5. Put your almond milk in a mug.  Heat in the microwave for 20 seconds (or whatever it takes to get it nice and warm).
  6. When the tea is done brewing, pour it into the almond milk and stir.
  7. Enjoy!choc-chai-3

As I finish this blog entry, I am enjoying my 2nd cup.   I hope you enjoy yours as much as I just did.

2 thoughts on “A Mild, Balanced, Herbal Chocolate Chai Almond Latte Recipe

Leave a Reply

