Winter Chai for a Lazy Vacation Day

Although I have been on vacation this past week, I haven’t been getting much done.   I have been yanked this way and that.  First I had to go shopping, so that killed a day.  Then I went to see my sister, and that took another day.  I have made a few things and put away some of my new herbs, but honestly, I haven’t done as much as I would have liked yet.

Tomorrow I am going to my in-laws to celebrate Christmas, and then Tuesday, I have some friends coming over because their daughters want to learn to make some bath bombs.   Phew!  Busy vacation.

I am feeling a little stressed and disheveled, so I made myself a grounding Winter Chai today.   I don’t know if it helped, but it did taste pretty good.

For scale purposes, the chocolate chips are about 1 heaping teaspoon.

winter-chaiSimmer all the ingredients except the chocolate, ginger and cloves in about 2 cups of water.   Simmer for 10 minutes.  Put the chocolate, ginger & cloves into a tea bag or tea brewing strainer and pour the simmered mixture through it.   Let it sit for about 5 minutes.

Add some milk, creamer, or whatever you like and enjoy.

Most of these ingredients are just there for the spicy chai flavor, but I added the astragalus and Eleuthero to give me a little pep and vigor (hopefully).

 

Leave a Reply

