In search of the holy grail (in a shampoo bar)

Earlier today I posted about my exciting batch of failed soap.   That was so much fun,  I decided to be experimental again and try out a totally new (for me) thing with inventing “the perfect shampoo bar”.

So I thought, “What would be the perfect ingredients for a shampoo bar?”.   Well, I decided to take the “kitchen sink” approach (more is better) and go for it  (my hair needs a lot of help).

A couple of days ago I posted about making some herb infused oils, one of which was full of nourishing hair ingredients. (The specific herbs I used are listed on the linked page).  I had loaded that oil with a pretty impressive arsenal of hair loving herbs and it was just begging to be made into a shampoo bar.

coconutshampoo3

I also had a few ingredients just sitting around for making lotion with and decided to add them as well.   Panthenol and silk are both great shampoo bar ingredients.

coconutshampoo5coconutshampoo6

And of course, for more luxury, I decided to throw in a little coconut milk.  It will add rich lather and bubbles and coconut milk is also great for your hair.

coconutshampoo2

My herb infused oils were put into olive oil, so I knew I needed to add that to my recipe, but I also love argan oil in my shampoo bars, so I added that as well.

I also had some Natures Garden “Creamy Coconut” fragrance and thought that might be fun to add (since I was adding coconut milk anyhow).

And finally, I did a 50/50 split between coconut oil and babassu oil because I just love that the babassu is gentle but produces more conditioning than the coconut oil.

So overall, we have an arsenal of hair loving herbs, argan oil, coconut milk, babassu oil, shea butter, panthenol and liquid silk.    If that is not the holy grail, it must be close to it!

coconutshampoo1

I had better luck with this batch of soap than the one I did earlier in the day.   Due to the coconut milk, it did heat up quite a bit and gelled in the mold, even though I didn’t insulate it, but that is OK.  It’s an uncolored soap, so I don’t mind if it gets partially gelled or not.  It’s for me, and I am not picky about such things.

It was an “unfussy” recipe with no colorants and no fancy design, so I just brought it to a thicker trace and poured in the mold. I put a texture on top that looks like a coconut cream pie.  Between the fragrance the herb tinted oils and the coconut milk, the batter turned a creamy color. How fitting!

coconutshampoo8coconutshampoo9

The left-over coconut milk, I froze into ice cubes for future soapy adventures.

Will it be a great shampoo bar?  Not sure yet and won’t know for 6 weeks when the soap cures, but I have high hopes.

coconutshampoo4

7 thoughts on “In search of the holy grail (in a shampoo bar)

  1. I cross my fingers! Hopefully your shampoo will do a great job! So far I have found out, that different hairs like different herbs. My hair loves birch, linden and hop. Nettle is too strong for me, Chamomile too weak. It took some experiments 🙂 I wish you so much fun as I have enjoyed! Ivana

    Like

    1. Thank you so much. I have never used hops, birch or linden, but that sounds like a lovely combination that I will have to try. My hair is very dry, brittle and thinning a little, so that is why I chose the “detangling” and “hair strengthening” herbs. What do hops, linden and birch do for hair? I am afraid I never studied them yet as a shampoo bar.

      Like

      1. To be honest, I choose them by intuition in the beginning. But they work well. As I am over 50, my hair are more thin and more fall. I am using my herb shampoo since April and even my hairdresser confirmed, that they are now thicker and stronger. Actually, the hop was her improvement to my original recipe. Leaves of birch are traditionally used for all kind of hair, blossoms of linden usually for thin and blond hair. My hair is red by origin. What is your color? Do you color them?

        Like

      2. Thanks for your answer. I am over 50 also and suffer the same things. I do not color my hair or perm it or even blow dry or curl it. It is just long, brown and straight, but very fine. When I was young it was blonde but it turned darker over time. I had not heard about hops, birch and linden, but I am going to buy some and try it. Thank you so much for the suggestion!

        Like

      3. You are welcome! One more trick you can use. Finely ground oatmeal, get it through fine sieve and put a small amount into the oil basement. Some times I use a small amount of Himalaya salt a well. And be sure to use hemp oil in your recipe. Small amount is enough, but do not skip it. I hope my experience will be helpful for you!

        Like

Leave a Reply

