Tea Parts Calculator

Like many people, I suppose, I am basically lazy.  I don’t like to do repetitive tasks, especially when they can be easily automated.

When making herbal teas / tisanes, you often have to take the step of converting “parts” to measurements.   This can be tedious.   Luckily, it is a simple math formula that is easily automated with MS-Excel.

Take, for example, one of my favorite bedtime tisanes.

The recipe is:

  • Chamomile – 2.0 parts
  • Catnip – 0.5 parts
  • Oatstraw – 1.0 parts
  • California Poppy – 0.5 parts
  • Skullcap – 0.5 parts

For just a quick cup of tea, I just “wing it” by using approximate measures with a teaspoon.    If I want to whip up a batch of this (say a week’s supply), however, it is a bit more complicated.

Let’s say I want to make 1 oz in total.  How much of each herb do I need to use?  Well, to do that you have to do some math.   You add up the total parts, then divide 1 oz by the total parts to get each part amount,  then multiply each ingredient part by that figure.

While this is not complicated, it is time consuming sometimes.  So I whipped up a little Excel calculator that will let you enter the herbs, part amounts and total volume.  It will then auto calculate the rest for you.

An example of this is below:

teacalc

You just replace the red text in the ingredients, parts and desired volumes sections.  Excel does it’s magic and just like that, your work is done.

I made this to accommodate up to 8 herbs, but if you are using less, you can just leave the lines you are not using blank (like I did above for herb 6,7 & 8), or if you want more herbs, you can just insert rows above the “total parts” line.

The attached excel file tea-part-calculator contains this recipe (as shown above) and a blank table that you can use to customize your own blend.

Just replace all the red text with your own values.

teacalc2

If you have any issues using this, please let me know.  I am not immune to making mistakes.  I tested it with my bedtime tisane recipe and it worked for me, but bugs and mistakes do occur from time to time.

I should note that I created this in Word for Mac.  It “should” work fine in any version of Excel, but if there are version differences or backward compatibility issues, this has not been tested.

Leave a Reply

