Having Too Much Fun Learning Photography

I spent this weekend getting acquainted with my new camera, so I didn’t get any soap made, but I had a lot of fun anyway.

I just thought I would share a few of the snapshots I took today.  Not all of them are winners, but still, I think it’s pretty good for a newbie.

My light cube and lights haven’t arrived yet, so I just did another tabletop photo shoot.  With a few of the photos, I had a little trouble controlling the light as it was alternating between cloudy and sunny today.

I don’t have much worked out in terms of backdrops and props yet, so I just grabbed a few trinkets I had in my sewing and soap stash and got to work trying to arrange them into some sort of composition.  Not all of them make sense with the product they are shown with, but I am working on building up my prop stash so I have more choices.

I was trying out a bunch of different aperture stops, ISO settings and so forth, so some of them are a little more blurred or exposed than others, but at least I am learning what all those things do so going forward I can use them to my advantage.

If you would like to see my practice photos, I put them in a slideshow below.  Just click the control at the bottom of the picture, and it will load up the slideshow–then you can scroll through them.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

