Photography Light Box Tests

I  have been doing many photography tests to narrow down the process for photographing my bath and body products.

 

I bought a light tent and some lights last week, so today I practiced with it. While it does solve the issue of not having enough light (I think),  I am still fiddling with the camera trying to get the best focus and light balance.   I thought I would share the results from my photo shoot today, even though they are not perfect yet.

 

This is the light cube I bought.  The cube works as advertised, but I won’t buy from this vendor again as I think it was a “return”.  It reeks of perfume, had a long black hair inside of it, and has some spots (maybe grease or makeup) on two of the surfaces.   Luckily they were in a spot that is not very apparent.  I might buy a smaller one (from a local camera store this time).  I think the 30″ one is a bit on the large side for what I need it for.

 

Anyhow, tonight, I grabbed a few things to compose some shots, and got to work.

 

I tried many different camera settings (ISO, Aperture, white balance, etc…) and chose the ones that came out the best to work on.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The pictures in the slide show above are color corrected and cropped.  I am having an issue with the pictures coming out very orange.  I don’t know if this means that there is still not enough light, too much light,  or if there is a color correction setting that I maybe accidentally activated on the camera.

Here are a few of the pictures before they were color corrected and cropped so you can see what I mean about them being orange.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

One other problem I am having is capturing crisp, clear text on the labels.  It could be because the surface of the bottles is curved, or it could be the clear tape I have over the labels.  I am not sure what is causing it, but it doesn’t matter how well the rest of the picture is focused, the text is not crisp enough.

If anyone has any suggestions on correcting these issues, I am open to trying them.  It will likely take a long time with trial and error, so I appreciate any wisdom anyone is willing to share.

Leave a Reply

