Luna – A Sleep Tisane

Many people (myself included) suffer from insomnia.  People take sleeping pills, meditate, take hot baths, drink milk, and try all sorts of remedies thought to help induce the elusive sleep state. Some of us have tried all these things and find only marginal, if any, relief from them.

I am not altogether sure that insomnia is my problem so much as my sleep / wake cycle has always been set to “night owl”.   The world, however, does not work that way, so I am forced to wake up bright and early to go to work every day, but my body will not sleep until about 2 AM.    Because of this, I am always looking for things that are healthy ways to fall asleep. Enough about that.

I have found some relief with herbal tisanes.   While some of them relax you, and others help you sleep more soundly, I have not found one yet that makes me sleepy before my body is ready.   Some of the ones that help relax me don’t always taste the best, so I am still blending new tisanes all the time to find that perfect mix of flavor and effectiveness.

This tisane is named after Luna, the Greek goddess of the moon.  It contains many ingredients known to help relax and induce sleep, and a few that are included for color, texture, and flavor.   I am drinking some right now as I write this and it is pretty tasty.

Luna – A Sleep Tisane

Makes one pint jar of tisane

IMG_5547

3 Heaping Tablespoons each of:

  • Chamomile Flowers
  • Oat Straw

1 heaping Tablespoon Each of:

  • Skullcap
  • Hops
  • Catnip
  • Rosebuds (red)

1 Level Teaspoon Each of: (add more if desired for more flavor)

  • Peppermint Leaf
  • Anise Seed

 

Heat 2 cups of water in the microwave for 3 minutes.  Put 3 teaspoons of the mixture into a tea bag and brew for 10 to 15 minutes.  Serve with 1/2 teaspoon of honey.

 

One thought on “Luna – A Sleep Tisane

Leave a Reply

