Getting there…and moving on.

After months and months of making the same products over and over again, I am getting close to the end of that project and already starting to do my research and stocking up for my next project.

Today I received a haul from Camden Grey and LotionCrafter.  Tomorrow I am expecting a few things from Nature’s Garden, and perhaps Saturday, from Glenbrook Farms Herbs.

For those of you who don’t know what I am talking about, or why I would put myself through months of remakes, I will explain.

Last fall, I started making a whole lot of bath and body products for my sister and her girls for Christmas.   I got them all made, packaged and gifted.   THEN sometime in January or February I got a digital SLR camera and realized what a difference it makes in my product photos (over the iPhone camera).    So I decided I really needed to make all those products over again to get better pictures.   My next book will be coming out in the next few months and there are SO many bath and body products in there that I want to do all I can to make it look as lovely as the products are.  My iPhone just wasn’t cutting the mustard for me.

I am getting a little bored making all this stuff again. I haven’t been able to make very much soap or anything else because I am just trying to get these things done in the very limited time I have to work on it.    I am down to just 6 more things so I am hoping, if the stars all align, I will be able to knock them out this weekend, barring any disasters.  Well, that, and my sister is coming for a visit in a few weeks and is going to want to take it all with her, so I am running out of time to get everything done and photographed to my satisfaction.

I am really looking forward to making some soap again, and to get started on my next project.  You can probably guess that part of the next project is lotion making, but there is also more.   I’ll leave it as a surprise for now, but it will be wonderful!

 

I splurged at Camden Grey, LotionCrafter, Natures Garden and Glenbrook Farms to start stocking up on my supplies.   Unfortunately, my next project is going to require some rather expensive oils and butters, so I had to get small amounts to start out with – 4 ounce sizes, for example.

(Excuse the dust in the background- we are remodeling and the wallpaper and molding is taken down temporarily). (also sorry for the iPhone photos, but it is a weeknight and I didn’t have time to drag out the DSLR and tripod and lighting).

IMG_6450

From Camden Grey (above), I bought:

Oils: Sweet Almond, Meadowfoam, Argan, Sesame, Apricot Kernel, Avocado, Flax, Hazelnut, Kukui Nut, Boabab, Camellia, Evening Primrose, Rosehip Seed.   Butters:  Deodorized Cocoa, Tucuma, Kokum and Capuacu.  Essential Oils: Peru Balsam and Benzoin Resin.   Additives:  Menthol Crystals, Allantoin and Olive Squalane.

 

IMG_6444

From Lotion Crafter (above)  I bought:

Honeyquat, Dimethicone, Cetyl Alcohol, Cetyl Esters, Gingko Extract, Licorice Root Extract, Hibiscus Extract and Willow Bark Extract.   I also bought some Hydrolyzed Oat and Rice proteins.

I love the little jug of honeyquat and dimethicone — aren’t those cute?

Tomorrow, from Nature’s Garden, I have some fragrance samples, citric acid (refill) and clays coming.  Then I have a whole boat-load of powdered herbs, more clays, and some more essential oils coming from Glenbrook Farms.

I am so excited to move on to the next thing and get back to soap making.   The light is coming nearer to the end of the tunnel, friends!   One more weekend hopefully and then I can just focus on getting all my pictures taken and the rest of the book tidied up.   I can finally feel the end getting nearer.  🙂

2 thoughts on “Getting there…and moving on.

  1. What a haul you have there. I can sympathise re the remakes, I’ve done nothing but restock core soaps for the last three months and I’m not complaining (it’s great to be busy) but I’m itching to do something different! Looking forward to seeing your new products!

    Like

Leave a Reply

