French Green Clay Tea Tree & Lavender Facial Soap – Refill

When I visited my niece last weekend, she made a special request for some more french green clay soap.   She said she really enjoyed the scent and liked using it to wash her face. She was almost out and wanted more.

I am on vacation from work this week, so I have plenty of free time to fill, doing what I love.   So today, I made a refill batch of french green clay soap for her.

This soap has all the usual soaping oils (coconut, olive, palm, castor) but also contains a good amount of unrefined hempseed oil and grapeseed oil as well, to help with blemishes.

IMG_5010

I added just a little “puff” of tussah silk to give the soap a nice silky feel and gloss.

IMG_5017

And of course, the french green clay, a little bit of zeolite clay, and a tiny bit of green chrome oxide.

French green clay is excellent at absorbing excess oils from oily skin.   It is pore cleansing and replenishes the skin with essential minerals.  Perfect for oily, blemish prone skin!

Zeolite clay is a mild exfoliant and also a great oil absorober and cleanser.  I only added a little bit as I don’t want the soap to be too “scrubby” on facial skin.

I added the little bit of green chrome oxide just to push the “green-ness” of the soap.  Otherwise it’s kind of  a green-gray color.

IMG_5020

Then the rest of the process is the same, really, as making any soap.   Blend and pour.  Nothing fancy with this soap – it is one color, no swirls.

I do like using the rice milk container for this because it makes a nice handy sized square bar of soap, and because it is made of paper, the soap is easy to release from the mold.

IMG_5024-side

I do make my soaps extra mild (cleansing value is 14 on soapcalc) by using a smaller amount of coconut oil than the usual soap recipe.  I use about 20% coconut oil.    I find that this is a good balance between producing a soap that is too soft, and one that is too harsh for sensitive skin.   It does mean, however, that I need to leave them in the mold for another day before unmolding them as they are quite soft at first and tend to stick to the mold if you get impatient.

I’ll come back in a couple of days and post a picture of the finished soaps.  They aren’t terribly exciting like swirled soaps, but are beautiful in their own simple way.

 

Leave a Reply

