The last two vacation projects

Today is officially the last day of my vacation.  Tomorrow it is back to spreadsheets, meetings and long hours of I.T. related work.

As I decided to sleep in today rather than get up and have an early start to my day, I only got 2 things made, but they both turned out great, so I am happy!

Today, I made 2 lotions – Cocoa-Nuts Lotion and Vanilla Cream Moisture Therapy Hair Conditioner.

Vanilla Cream Moisture Therapy Hair Conditioner

IMG_5363

I bought some “VegeKeratin” from Lotioncrafter recently.  It contains Wheat Amino Acids, Soy Amino Acids, Arginine HCl, Serine, and Threonine and is supposed to increase elasticity and strength in damaged hair by about 18%.  I have been itching to use this, so today, I formulated a recipe to use it with!

This conditioner contains a lot of hair-loving oils and additives.  It has the VegeKeratin of course, but also Panthenol, Coconut, Argan and Avocado Oils, BTMS-50, Cyclomethicone and Dimethcone.   It should be detangling, moisturizing, and let’s hope the VegeKeratin does what it is supposed to to provide strength and elasticity.

I scented this with a light touch of Nurture Soap’s “Vanilla Cream” fragrance.  It kind of smells like buttercream frosting – but just a hint of it.

 

Cocoa-Nuts Lotion

IMG_5372

A while ago, I made a coconut lotion but I had used stearic acid for the thickener.  As such, it had a waxy smell that I didn’t like.   So I reformulated the recipe to get rid of the stearic acid and replace it with Cetearyl Alcohol.

This is a simple lotion with only two oils – Coconut Oil and Unrefined Cocoa Butter.    It is scented with Nature’s Garden “Creamy Coconut” fragrance.   When mixed with the warm scent of the cocoa butter, it smells so good – cocoa and coconut — a marriage made in heaven!

Because coconut oil and cocoa butter can sometimes feel a little greasy, I added a little IPM (Isopropyl Myristate) to counter-act that.   I also added a small amount of dimethicone to also help make it feel “drier”.

I used Honeyquat and glycerin for humectants.

I used some on my hands and I really liked it!   I think I will make a larger quantity of this so I can gift some and keep some for myself.

 

So that’s it!  With those two lotions,  am officially out of time for fun this week.   I will do a vacation roundup post next so I can summarize my accomplishments over this past week.  I enjoy looking back at these — it makes me feel accomplished!  🙂

One thought on “The last two vacation projects

Leave a Reply

