4 Attempts – 4 Successes – Perfect Saturday!

It’s Saturday and I am at it again — making a mess in my kitchen.

Today, I made 4 different batches of lotions and every one of them (knock on wood) has turned out perfectly — exactly as I envisioned them.   I love when that happens.

I won’t get a chance to get good pictures of the final products until tomorrow, but I took plenty of “making” pictures today!

I am working on a new book and this one will have small batch beginner recipes in it.   As such, I don’t want to stray too far from common carrier oils and I am trying to keep the ingredients reasonable, as beginners won’t have a large inventory of lotion making stash.    Therefore the next few lotions are going to be fairly simple, but so far I am loving them anyway.

My assumption is that many beginners may also make other bath and body things like bath bombs or soap and should have some basic oils and butters.   I am trying to keep it to those basics and maybe a couple of new oils that are inexpensive.  This should limit start-up expenses, as all they might need to buy are a couple of emulsifying waxes and an inexpensive preservative.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my Olive Squalane, Panthenol, Hydrolyzed Proteins, and all that fluff, but I don’t expect that beginners will have those things until they have a few successful lotions made and are hopelessly addicted to lotion making.

 

Avocado, Olive and Shea Moisturizing Lotion

OliveAvoSheaCollage

This one turned out beautifully.  It is rich and creamy like you would expect with rich oils like Olive and Avocado.   The addition of the Shea Butter makes this extra moisturizing and it feels like thick cream going on your skin.  It did sink in after a minute or so, but my hands felt lovely for a long time.

 

Sweet Almond, Macadamia and Mango Butter Moisturizing Lotion

SAOMacaMangoCollage

I was very happy with the way this one turned out also.   It is lighter feeling than the Avocado, Olive and Shea, and it also sinks in a little faster.   My hands still felt lovely over an hour later (they probably would have felt lovely longer but my hands are constantly in the water when I am making lotions, so it probably all washed off after doing dishes a few times).

 

Lavender and Peru Balsam Foot Cream with Lanolin

LavBalsamFootCreamCollage

I love my thick, rich foot creams and I suspect others might too.    The addition of lanolin to this cream is optional, but it offers so much moisture retention that it is worth the very small investment to pick up a small amount of it.  I used some lanolin I had bought from the health food store (Now Foods).  I think it was like $10 for 8 ounces (which is an awful lot of it when you consider you only need to use about 1/2 teaspoon full at a time).

This also has Sweet Almond, Argan and Shea Butter, so it is non-greasy, but oh-so-conditioning and great for dry, cracked skin.  The scent of Lavender and Peru Balsam together make a relaxing and calming experience.

 

Eucalyptus & Spearmint, Avocado, Olive and Hemp Foot Cream with Lanolin

EucSpearFootCreamCollage

I love lanolin so much in a foot cream that I made a another one.  These foot creams can also be used elsewhere, by the way, on elbows, or anywhere you have very dry skin.

This one has Avocado, Olive and Hempseed oils, along with Deodorized Cocoa Butter.  This makes a rich, thick and heavy cream that is perfect for very dry skin.  I did add a little touch of green mica to boost the green-ness of the hempseed oil (plus it smells like Eucalyptus and Spearmint, so green is fitting for it).  Eucalyptus and Spearmint essential oils smell refreshing, clean, and tingly.

So that’s it for my Saturday — another one that went by so fast as I was having too much fun.  Oh well, tomorrow is Sunday so I have another day to make even more lotions!  Hopefully I will get the time to take some finished pictures of the products as well.

One thought on “4 Attempts – 4 Successes – Perfect Saturday!

Leave a Reply

