Four Successful Lovely Lotions and Conditioners

Wow, I don’t know how time flies so fast!   I blinked my eyes and just like magic, it is Sunday night already!

Yesterday it was cloudy and rainy, so I spent most of the day taking pictures of the lotions I had made last weekend.   I only had time left to make one lotion last night.

Then today, I made 3 more lotions and managed to get some “draft” photos of them.  It was sunny again, so that always makes my camera non-compliant.

Tea Tree and Lavender Lotion for Oily / Acne Prone Skin

IMG_5757

This lotion contains oils that are known to have anti-inflammatory and anti-acne properties (grapeseed, sunflower and apricot kernel oils).  Aloe vera and allantoin are also included to help calm the skin. Finally,  I added a small amount of tea tree and lavender essential oils which are also supposed to help with acne.  It turned out really great, and smells fresh, clean, and calming.

TTcollage

 

Oil-Free Hair Conditioner for Fine or Oily Hair

IMG_5816

For those who have oily or very fine hair, you don’t want to add oils and either aggravate the problem by adding more oils, or weigh the hair down with them.   You may, however, still want to condition or detangle.  That’s where this conditioner comes in.

It is made without any oils at all.  It is just a mixture of water, aloe vera, panthenol, and emulsifiers and thickeners, with a little bit of dimethicone to help with shine and detangling.

As a conditioner, of course, it is made with BTMS-50, a conditioning emulsifier.  This conditioning power is boosted by the addition of cetyl alcohol.

I scented this with just a tiny bit of rosemary and lemon essential oils to make it smell herbal and happy.   This combination is also said to help improve the memory and the mood.

OilFreeConditionerColalge

 

Rosemary & Peppermint Nourishing Hair Conditioner & Detangler

IMG_5802

Keeping with the herbal theme I had going this weekend, I made this conditioner into the classic “Rosemary & Peppermint” that is supposed to be so lovely for hair growth and health.

This conditioner contains coconut, olive and macadamia nut oils, as well as panthenol, aloe vera, and dimethicone (for detangling and shine).   I love how it turned out and it smells tingly and clean.

I tinted it with just a touch of mica — only enough to give it a ballerina pink color.

And, of course, it is scented with a small amount of rosemary and peppermint essential oils (not too much or it can get a little too tingly on the scalp).

RosemaryPeppermintConditioner

 

Honey I Washed the Kids Conditioner and Detangler for Dry or Damaged Hair

IMG_5788

If you have not smelled “Honey I Washed the Kids” fragrance oil from Nurture Soap, I encourage you to pick up a sample size of it and give it a chance.   It smells clean and juvenile, but not in a “plastic fantastic” way.

It smells quite strong in the bottle, almost like laundry soap.  But when you put it into soap or lotion, in small amounts, it smells clean and powdery.  It is a very powerful fragrance, so you don’t need to use very much – I only used 1/2 milliliter and that gave this conditioner a very powdery soft scent.

I made this conditioner with dry hair in mind.  It contains coconut, sweet almond, and avocado oils as well as mango butter.   All of these are great for dry or damaged hair.

I also included two humectants – glycerin and sodium lactate.   Panthenol and dimethicone are also included to nourish and detangle the hair, and make it shine.

HIWTKConditionercollage

 

Well, with that, my weekend is over and it’s time to wrap it up for another week.  I sure had fun making these though. 🙂

Have a great week ahead, friends!

Leave a Reply

