Dragon’s Blood Type Soap – Remake

Last week I made some palm-free soap for the first time and it turned out wonderful!  The only problem was that I forgot to add my fragrance oil — DOH!

So this weekend, I did a reboot.  I used slightly different colors, but the same palm-free recipe.  

I am liking this recipe.  The soap comes out of the mold very firm after only about 24 hours, without sticking at all!   I am beginning to think that the palm oil is the cause of the sticking problem I have been having.

This time, I decided to make the soap primarily red (Nurture Soap’s “Really Red Mica”).  I added Luster Black Mica and Titanium Dioxide to make my white and black swirls.  I left the white part unscented so it wouldn’t discolor.  I used only 1/4 cup of batter each for the red and the white parts.  The rest was all made into red batter.

IMG_6173

 

I poured most of the red batter into the mold and then dropped in the white and then the black batter from varying heights.

IMG_6175

IMG_6176

 

Then I put more red on top, and scraped all my cups onto the surface.   I tried to texture it to look like dragon skin, but I am not quite sure I pulled it off.  It does, however, look like fire and smoke!

IMG_6180

Today (Tuesday) I cut the soap.  I will post a “cutting of” post next, as I have not one, not two, but THREE soaps to show today!

I can’t wait for this to cure.  I really want to see how it performs as opposed to soaps made with palm oil.  Will I notice any difference in later?  Skin feel?  Cleansing?   We’ll just have to see.

 

7 thoughts on “Dragon’s Blood Type Soap – Remake

  1. It’s been a while since I forgot to add the fragrance but I remember the moment I realised really well – crushing 😂. Glad you’ve managed a remake – Dragon’s Blood FO is lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is the first time I used a Dragon’s Blood type fragrance. I usually don’t like men’s fragrances, but this one is nice. It’s not too strong. The one I got from Nurture Soap is kind of sweet and spicy.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this
    onto a colleague who had been conducting a little homework on this.
    And he in fact bought me lunch because I discovered it for him…

    lol. So let me reword this…. Thanks for the meal!!

    But yeah, thanx for spending the time to discuss this topic here on your internet
    site.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

