Salty Mariner Men’s Lotion, Avobath Type Lotion and Frankincense, Lavender and Lemon Facial Cream with Niacinamide

Unfortunately, I did not have such a  great weekend this week.   We had a storm on Thursday night which knocked out power to many customers around where I live.  Luckily my power came back on Friday morning, but my Internet connection was down all day.  It was sporadically out on Saturday as well.

I am thankful that we did not suffer some of the damage that others around here did, but it was real inconvenient without Internet for so long.  So many things won’t work without an Internet connection.   It’s easy to take for granted how “connected” you really are and be taken by surprise by the handicap when you are without it.

Aside from that, I also had a few chores to take care of this weekend, so I didn’t get as much done as I normally do.  I did manage to get three lotions made though, which is better than nothing.

My husband loves a couple of Brambleberry’s men’s fragrances.  One of them is Salty Mariner.  The other is Shave and a Haircut.   He requested some lotions with these fragrances in them, so that was my first project of the weekend.   I made him the Salty Mariner one.

Salty Mariner Lotion

SaltyMarinerCollage

Since he likes a dry feeling lotion, this one is made with grapeseed and boabab oils, both of which are non-greasy feeling.

I added some olive squalane, niacinamide, and a touch of Isopropyl Myristate and Dimethicone (to help it feel drier and less greasy).

I emulsified it with BTMS-50 for a powdery lotion feel.   I used cetearyl alcohol as a thickener, since this is a “grabbier” feeling thickener (lest he confuses “silky” with “greasy”).

I added Honeyquat and Vegetable Glyercine for humectants.   Of course, it also contains allantoin because I put that in all my lotions since it is so wonderful on the skin.

Since he wanted to wear this like a cologne, I used a little more fragrance oil than I normally do.  Usually, I use 0.05%.  I added a full 1% this time.

Here is the “finished” shot:

IMG_6320.jpg

 

Avobath Type Lotion

avo2collage

I previously made some lotion with Avobath type fragrance, but I already gifted it, so I wanted to make some for me this time. 🙂

I made a different recipe than my previous batch because I like certain things such as sesame and camellia seed oils.  I also wanted to try out some MuruMuru butter.

I used Ginseng and Carrot extracts, both of which are great for aging skin.  Since I like a “wetter” and “smoother” feeling lotion, I used cetyl alcohol and cetyl esters.   I used both vegetable glycerin and sodium lactate as humectants.

I got to try out my new little beakers for mixing.   LOVE THEM! They are tall and skinny versus short and wide, so they work great and reduce some of the air bubbles.  Now I need to pick up a few more so I can get two batches of lotion going at one time. (LOL – double my productivity).

Here is the “finished” shot:

IMG_6419

 

Frankin-Lemon Facial Cream

IMG_6328.jpg

This is similar to my Rose Hydrosol Luxury Facial Cream, but instead of using rose hydrosol, I used aloe vera liquid.

It has babassu, rice bran, and rosehip oils, as well as olive squalane and tucuma butter.  Rich!   The light yellow color is due to the rosehip oil (there are no colorants in the lotion).  It looks sort of edible, like a lemon cream (yum!).

I added a touch of niacinamide to see if this would help with my uneven skin tone.  It is supposed to reduce redness.

Finally, I scented it with a blend of frankincense, lemon and a light touch of lavender essential oils.   It is very lightly scented since it is for the face.   I should also mention that I seldom go out in the sun, (because even thinking about it gives me sunburn).   If I were to go out in the sun, I would need to make this with lemongrass instead of lemon (or wash it off before going in the sun).

I didn’t take any “making of” pictures for this one, since those all look the same and I knew I would be posting others on this page, so let me leave you with some pictures of my new and wonderful beakers.

IMG_6287

 

Chores:

IMG_6297

I mentioned that I had some chores to do this weekend.  One of them was juicing some limes (for marinades).   This is not soap or lotion related, but soap makers are known to eat good food once in a while, so I thought I would share this.

Up until last year this was a REAL chore.   I had one of those glass jars with a plastic juicer mechanism that screwed on top of it.   Juicing was a manual effort that took hours and I dreaded it so much.

Last year I bought a Breville Electric Juicer and my life changed forever.   Now I can juice a whole bag of limes (or lemons or oranges) in only about 1/2 hour from the time I get everything out until it is all cleaned up and put away.

All you have to do is cut the limes in half, pop one on the juicer and pull down the handle.  The juicer does the rest of the work for you.

This little beauty come right apart and is so easy to clean when you’re done.   I just love it.

IMG_6301

A Costco sized bag of limes makes about 4 cups of juice.  Enough for about 2 1/2 ice-cube trays full. For me, that is about 6 months worth.  I freeze them and then just pop out a few at a time to make chicken marinades with.

IMG_6299

IMG_6300

So, that was a bit off topic, but I though I would post something a little different and keep everyone on their toes. 🙂

 

That’s it for me for this week.   Have a wonderful week ahead!

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Salty Mariner Men’s Lotion, Avobath Type Lotion and Frankincense, Lavender and Lemon Facial Cream with Niacinamide

Leave a Reply

