It’s beginning to look a lot like “birthday”

Along with the two soaps I made this weekend, I also got 6 batches of mondo bath bombs done for my sister’s upcoming birthday.    Last weekend I made one more, so that is a total of 7 batches (at 7 to 8 bombs each) for a grand total of 51 bath bombs!   If that is not a happy birthday, then I don’t know what is!

To be fair though, she doesn’t get to keep all of them.  She has two daughters and three grand-daughters to share with.   She gets a lot of enjoyment, though, from being the one who is the “keeper of the bath bomb stash”.

Now that I got that behind me, I still have to make her some oatmeal, milk and honey balm and whipped body butter.   That, and I usually make them all a little wristlet purse and some sort of crazy pillow-case, so next weekend, I will have to spend my time sewing.   I don’t care for sewing in the summer very much (all that ironing really heats up my sewing room), so I usually sew all these things over the winter and spring.  This year, however, I was busy making lotions and didn’t do it.   Now I will have to brave the heat and get it done in a rush.

She will also be the recipient of most of the lotions and soaps I have been making over the past few months.  I could never use that many lotions before they go bad, but she and her crew will put them to good use.

Anyhow… back to the bath bombs:

 

Oatmeal, Milk & Honey Milk Bath Bomb

IMG_7093

Made with cocoa butter, sunflower oil and Brambleberry’s “Oatmeal, Milk & Honey Cybilla” fragrance.  Topped with oatmeal.

 

Hot Apple Pie Bubble Butter Bath Bomb

IMG_7114.jpg

Made with cocoa butter, shea butter, sweet almond oil, SLSA (for bubbles) and scented with Brambleberry’s “Hot Apple Pie” fragrance oil.

 

American Cream Bubble Butter Bomb

IMG_7125

Made with cocoa and shea butters, fractionated coconut oil, and SLSA (for bubbles) and scented with Nurture Soap’s “American Cream” fragrance oil.

 

Frozen Glitter Bath Bomb

IMG_7104

Made with sweet almond oil and scented with Nurture Soap’s “Frozen” fragrance oil.  The blue part has iridescent glitter incorporated in the mixture, so they sparkle like the snow.

 

Avobath Bath Bomb

IMG_7135.jpg

Made with fractionated coconut oil and scented with Nurture Soap’s “Avobath Type” fragrance oil.

 

Yuzu Bath Bomb

IMG_7087

Made with apricot kernel oil and scented with Brambleberry’s “Yuzu” fragrance oil.  Topped with dried cornflowers.

 

Whew! That was a lot of bath bombs in one weekend.   I was really cranking them out!  I am glad that is done, but I still have to wrap and package them and figure out what size basket I am going to need to hold all this stuff for her.

She’s a lucky girl to have a sister like me (I keep telling her). 🙂   But if you can’t spoil your little sister, what good is life?

3 thoughts on “It’s beginning to look a lot like “birthday”

    1. Thank you so much! I just use the stainless steel mondo bath bomb molds I bought from Brambleberry. They make very uniform bath bombs and I find them easy to use. The trick is to get the mixture to the proper moisture level. Too wet and they will grow warts and cracks. Too dry and they will crumble. It takes lots of experimenting because depending on your climate (humid or dry), it could take different amounts of added moisture to get to the right consistency. I live in Michigan so it alternates between very dry and very humid. So my bath bombs are always a moving target as to how much to wet them. I have failed batches here and there as a result.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

